Whispered Words

7 Feb

“He is not yours”

I heard a faint whisper from the shelves as look around the bookstore.

“You don’t deserve him”

I pulled out a book, not caring what it was or what it was all about, and started flipping through the pages.

“Can you not see them together?”

I poked my head at the edge of the shelf and saw him happily talking to my best friend.

“Don’t they look good together?”

I shrugged and continued down the aisle.

“Are you jealous?”

I stopped.

“Do you wish to be the one he’s talking to, not her?”

I dropped the book and hurriedly picked it up.

“Do you want him to know how you feel?”

Facing back on the shelf in a corner, my breath became heavier.

“Are you not happy that you see him happier with her than you?”

I ran my hand to my chest.

“Do you regret letting her meet him?”

I clenched my fist.

“Do you want him to look at you only?”

Gritting my teeth.

“Do you feel left out when you are with them?”

I hugged my knees and tears started to come out.

“Does your heart-aches when you see them together?

I nodded.

“… You can’t have him”

Leave a Reply

